Return to the scene of the FTD crime!

Home heartAfter three years in the wilderness (well, not really, but it sounds better than “after three years living somewhere else”). After three years away from my home, last weekend I took the plunge and returned to where it all began. My war with FTD that is.

Seven years ago, my husband was diagnosed with frontotemporal degeneration. We lived together in the home we had shared with our family for the previous seven years. Five years later, he died. Broken down into a myriad of confused pieces by the degeneration of his brain, he slipped away peacefully at the place he was living, ten months after he had left our home for the last time.

Last weekend, I went back. I had driven by, but never been inside since the day I left, about four months after he moved into a care facility. I couldn’t manage his behaviors at home any longer, not and work to support us both too. I left the house because, well, now I’m not really sure why. I just knew I couldn’t stay there. Maybe because I felt so alone, maybe because the house felt too big. I don’t really know. It felt like the right thing to do at the time. I have said several times that I didn’t think I would ever live there again.

But last Saturday, I changed my mind. It’s allowed, right?

I went back to look at the house since the lady who was renting it had moved on to pastures new. I knew some updating would be required, so I went to see just what needed to be done. All week, I had been going back and forth between the choices I had. Do I rent again? Do I sell? Or – do I go back?

Well, I have decided go back.

I am going back to live there because I found that it was not as emotionally disturbing as I thought it would be. Like most anticipated, maybe even dreaded events, it was not nearly as bad as I had imagined. It actually still felt like home. There were a couple of tearful moments, but certainly not the anguish I was anticipating. The tears came from good memories. From fun and funny times. From love. Love for my husband, love for my family. I realized it was not the house that gave me bad memories, but FTD. Home-Heart

FTD was the bad guy, not my home. Not the place where we laughed with friends, played with our grandchildren, relaxed in our pajamas and laughed at the stupid things that noone else would ever find funny.

FTD was the destroyer of all that, not the house. There are no do-overs with FTD. It’s done now, no going back.

But I can go back to the place where I feel at home.

Oh yes, it needs a little makeover and a new hairdo, but that’s good. When it’s done, it will look different. It will be different. A little like me. Changed forever but with the essence of what it is still intact.  My home.

My husband loved our house.  When we relaxed out by the pool, for a long time we had a favorite CD – Crowded House Greatest Hits. Our favorite track was “Don’t Dream It’s Over”. As I drove away from the house on Saturday it came on the radio.

Whatever you believe, the final decision was made and confirmed…..

HeartHome

2 thoughts on “Return to the scene of the FTD crime!

  1. Hi Debbie, thank you for sharing this big step towards healing, finding peace and moving forward. Thank you for sharing; for reminding us that after the FTD battle there is still life to live, to enjoy and things to look forward to. What a precious confirmation from your husband that he’s watching over you and cheering you on.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

